Latest News

As part of the Council's continual review of the supply of and demand for school places, we are now consulting upon revising catchment area arrangements for the English-medium community schools serving the Llandaff North and Whitchurch areas.

These areas are currently served by the following schools:

• Coryton Primary School
• Gabalfa Primary School
• Hawthorn Primary School
• Whitchurch Primary School

Since the establishment of Whitchurch Primary school in September 2012, a number of pupils have been admitted by statutory independent appeal to the school. The Council wishes to reduce this uncertainty in the admission arrangements that has caused difficulties both for parents and schools in the area.

The changes proposed therefore seek to achieve a balance between the Gabalfa Primary School and Whitchurch Primary School catchment areas.

A copy of the catchment area map detailing the proposed changes that would be implemented in September 2015 is available here. There are no changes proposed to the catchment areas of Coryton Primary School and Hawthorn Primary School.

If you wish to see a copy of an individual school catchment area map, please contact the School Organisation Planning Team on 029 2087 2917.

Your views and opinions are important. If you would like to respond to the consultation please get in touch either by e-mailing or responding to Graham Dalton, Schools Organisation Planning Manager, Room 213, County Hall, Cardiff CF10 4UW by Friday 28 February 2014. Alternatively if you have a query please call 029 2087 2917.