One of Cardiff’s oldest parks which was first laid out and opened to the public by its owner, Charles Thompson, in 1891. This grade 2 listed park was originally known as Sir David’s Field and were enlarged and landscaped by Sir William Goldring in around 1895. In 1911, Mr Thompson gave the park to Cardiff Corporation.


This attractive park with its iconic water fountain is a popular but peaceful place to pass the time of day.


Features 


  • Statue of ‘Joyance’ by Sir William Goscombe John
  • Carved green man tree sculpture is located on the upper recreation field.

 

Facilities


  • Bowling green and pavilion

 

Opening hours


7.30am - 30 minutes before sunset.

 

How to find us

Access point

GPS

Lower entrance (Romilly Road)

316181/176863

Upper entrance (Pencisely Road)

316116/177280

 

 

Public transport: See Cardiff bus​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​External link opens in a new window  for local routes or visit TravelineCymru​​​​​​​​​​​​​​External link opens in a new window  to plan your journey online


Parking: On-street parking is available in the surrounding area.


​​