Navigate Up
Sign In

My Neighbourhood

Use your postcode to find local councillors, facilities, school catchment areas and more.

Find facilities in my area
new cardiff > ENG > Your Council > Lord Mayor > The Lord Mayor

The Lord Mayor of the City of Cardiff

The Lord MayorThe Lord Mayor, First Citizen of Cardiff, is the lead ambassador at the City's civic functions. The current Lord Mayor is Councillor Dianne Elizabeth Rees and the Deputy Lord Mayor is Councillor Cllr Rod McKerlich.

The Lord Mayor brings a sense of tradition and continuity, which is beneficial to the city's commercial and social interests. A number of the Lord Mayors were in the forefront of the campaign to win capital status for the city in 1955. 

Lord Mayors are politically neutral during their year of office, acting as chairperson of council meetings. 

It is the ceremonial duties of the Mayoralty, which feature most prominently in the year of office such as bestowing the freedom of the city on ‘Persons of Distinction'. The Princess of Wales, the Viscount Tonypandy, the Rt. Hon James Callaghan, Pope John Paul II, Nelson Mandela and Sir Tasker Watkins are among those who have received this honour.


For further information on any aspect of the Mayoralty, please contact: 

Protocol Office
Mansion House,
Richmond Road,
CF24 3UN

029 20871543 or 029 20873403​