The Cabinet is made up of the Leader of the Council and up to nine Cabinet Members (incl. the Deputy Leader).

The Leader of the Council is elected by the Council who then selects their Cabinet Members for appointment by Council. Each Cabinet Member has responsibility for a specific portfolio of the Council's services and policies, which is assigned by the Leader.

The Cabinet is the main decision making body of the Council and is responsible for implementing the budgetary and policy framework of the Council. Some key matters, such as setting the budget and council tax annually, remain a matter for the Council to decide.

Cabinet meetings are held usually on a monthly basis (excluding August) and are chaired by the Leader. Meetings are open to the public except when personal or confidential matters are being discussed.

Decisions are taken collectively by the Cabinet at the meeting, which are then published in a decision register following the meeting. Copies of the agendas, reports, decision registers and minutes of Cabinet meetings can be found on the Council’s website.

Future reports to be considered at Cabinet meetings are scheduled in the Cabinet’s Forward Plan.


Cabinet Members



Councillor Phil BaleExternal link opens in a new window - Leader. Economic Development and Partnerships


Councillor Sue LentExternal link opens in a new window - Deputy Leader. Early Years, Children and Families


Councillor Peter BradburyExternal link opens in a new window - Community Development, Co-operatives and Social Enterprise


Councillor Daniel De'AthExternal link opens in a new window - Skills, Safety and Engagement


Councillor Bob DerbyshireExternal link opens in a new window - Environment


Councillor Susan ElsmoreExternal link opens in a new window  - Health, Housing and Wellbeing


Councillor Graham HincheyExternal link opens in a new window - Corporate Services and Performance


Councillor Sarah MerryExternal link opens in a new window - Education


Councillor Ramesh PatelExternal link opens in a new window - Transport, Planning and Sustainability  


Assistants to Cabinet Members


Councillor Sam KnightExternal link opens in a new window - Assistant to Cabinet Member (Technology, Innovation and Skills)

Councillor Caro Wild​​​​​​​​​​​​Link opens in a new window - Assistant to Cabinet Member (Housing and Tackling Poverty)

Councillor Chris WeaverExternal link opens in a new window – Assistant to Cabinet Member (Active Travel and Wellbeing including Libraries)


For further information please contact:


Cabinet Office
Room 512 - 514
County Hall
Atlantic Wharf
CF10 4UW 

029 2087 2396